Government to reveal first 20 cities winners of Smart City Challenge


Venkaiah-naidu-epa-LThe winners of Smart City Challenge would be announced today which would witness names of first 20 cities out of 97, said Urban Development Minister M Venkaiah Naidu.

The announced cities will be developed to have basic infrastructure through assured water and power supply, sanitation and solid waste management, efficient urban mobility and public transport, IT connectivity, e-governance and citizen participation.

In the subsequent years, the government will announce 40 cities each to be developed as smart cities as per Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s plan to develop 100 smart cities in the country.

Naidu mentioned perpetuation of inequities in urban areas and hence the government is committed to ensuring inclusive development under new initiatives like Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT), Smart City Mission, Swachh Bharat and Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (Urban).

Emphasizing on the need for sustainable urban development, Naidu stated, “Cities should be water positive through water harvesting, recycling and reuse of water, energy positive with each household resorting to renewable sources of energy, and community positive facilitating interactive neighbourhoods.”